PureCloud Accessibility Labeling Controls for Screen Reader

Hello,

I am contacting the forum with the intent of obtaining some advice or guidance regarding a matter of accessibility for Screen Reader applications with the PureCloud platform.

I am not a developer, however, am rather familiar with requirements for accessibility for screen reader applications as I am blind/visually impaired and use screen reader software for access and employment.

I do have some experience with HTML and scripting and would like to provide more constructive information to my own IT department regarding the PureCloud interface so that I can use it more effectively.

I will be using PureCloud with a screen reader application called Jaws for Windows from http://www.freedomscientific.com/ and am encountering some difficulty regarding identification of controls in the web interface. The primary function of a screen reader is to provide spoken output from a computer and to emulate mouse functions to provide access to modern applications. The software I use interfaces with browsers (such as Chrome) through API’s to obtain the content being displayed as what it calls a document object model. It then presents this information to me in its own “virtual buffer” where I can use the keyboard to interact with it. For example, pressing the enter key on a link will normally simulate a mouse-click action on that item. This also allows me the ability to text-search the content for keywords, assign what it calls place-markers to instantly map parts of a web interface to keyboard commands or perform other scripting functions for which it has its own scripting language, somewhat similar to VBScript and C++.